CHAKRA GUIDE: Are Your Chakras Out Of Balance?

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body.

There are seven main chakras (energy points), which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. 



The Root Chakra or Muladhara is the 1st chakra. Its energy is based on the earth element. It’s associated with the feeling of safety and grounding.

Motto: I Am  
Mantra: LAM                                                                                                                                                                                             
Color: Red
Planet: Saturn                                                                                                                                                        Overactive: Fearful, nervous, insecure, or ungrounded; materialistic or greedy; resistant to change
Underactive: Lacking a sense of being at home or secure anywhere, codependent, unable to get into one’s body, fearful of abandonment


The Sacral Chakra or Svadisthana is the 2nd chakra. It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity.

Motto: I Feel
Mantra: VAM
Color: Orange                                                                                                    Planet: Jupiter, Mercury                                       

Overactive: Overemotional, very quick to attach and invest in others, attracted to drama, moody, lacking personal boundaries
Underactive: Stiff, unemotional, closed off to others, lacking self-esteem or self-worth, possibly in an abusive relationship.


The Solar Chakra or Manipura is the 3th chakra. It is associated with the expression of will, personal power, and mental abilities, Manipura in Sanskrit is mobilized when we assert ourselves in the world.

Motto: I Do
Mantra: RAM                                                                                                    Planet: Sun                                                             
Overactive: Domineering, aggressive, angry, perfectionistic or overly critical of oneself or others
Underactive: Passive, indecisive, timid, lacking self-control


The Heart Chakra or Anahata is the 4th chakra energy center symbolizing compassion, love, and beauty.

Motto: I Love
Mantra: YAM
Planet: Venus
Overactive: Loving in a clingy, suffocating way; lacking a sense of self
in a relationship; willing to say yes to everything; lacking boundaries, letting everyone in
Underactive: Cold, distant, lonely, unable or unwilling to open up to others, grudgeful


The Throat Chakra or Vishuddha is the 5th chakra. Located at the center of the neck at the level of the throat, it is the passage of the energy between the lower parts of the body and the head. The function of the Throat chakra is driven by the principle of expression and communication.

Motto: I Speak
Mantra: HAM
Color: Blue
Planet: Mercury
Overactive: Overly talkative, unable to listen, highly critical, verbally abusive, condescending
Underactive: Introverted, shy, having difficulty speaking the truth, unable to express needs


The Third Eye Chakra or Ajna is the 6th chakra. Located on the forehead, between the eyebrows, it is the center of intuition and foresight. The function of the third eye chakra is about your psychic abilities, awarenesses and imagination.

Motto: I See
                                                                                                     Mantra: AUM or OM (Creation’s first breath)                                           Color: Indigo

Planet: Moon                                                                                             Overactive: Out of touch with reality, lacking good judgment, unable to focus, prone to hallucinations, lacking good judgment, unable to focus, prone to hallucinations                                                                                          Underactive: Rigid in thinking, closed off to new ideas, too reliant on authority, disconnected or distrustful of inner voice, anxious, clinging to the past and fearful of the future


The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara is the 7th chakra. Located at the top of the head, it gives us access to higher states of consciousness as we open to what is beyond our personal preoccupations and visions. The function of the crown chakra is driven by consciousness and gets us in touch with the universal consciousness.

Motto: I Understand
Mantra: Silence
Color: Purple
Planet: Jupiter
Overactive: Addicted to spirituality, heedless of bodily needs, having difficulty controlling emotions
Underactive: Not very open to spirituality, unable to set or maintain goals, lacking direction